Yesterday I went down to Henco, the drafting supply store downtown, and dropped off a few of my larger watercolour/mixed media pieces. They have a gigantic 36-inch scanner that writes as high-resolution tiff files. They were a little shorthanded, so they didn’t get to my stuff until this morning. I picked them up on my lunch break and just got done cropping and editing the files on the CD they burned for me. The resolution is amazing, and these are some huge ass files. Interestingly enough the scanner even managed to capture the iridescent shimmer caused by pearlized pigments on one piece and some shiny collaged paper on another. Overall I’m pretty happy with the quality, and it only cost me around $37, so I really can’t complain.

The guy there gave me the business card of a photographer who specializes in artist portfolios. I was telling him how it was near impossible to get a good camera shot of a canvas piece, and he said they ran into that same problem years ago trying to photograph some jobs, and started using this guy. I figure when I get my next day off (Thursday y u no come yet???) I’ll give him a call and see what he would charge to take some pictures of my stuff.

So that was step one in my quest to actually do something with my art. Step two will be to take these pictures and put together a new website and a professional looking portfolio. Step three will be to find out how much it would cost to get prints made and shipped and then create an etsy page. Step four is to make some business cards and burn some CD portfolios and GET UP OFF MY ASS and hit up every gallery in town. I’m determined that 2012 is the year I finally arrive. I’m one step closer.

