To get my mind of the atrocity that I just watched, how about a little flashback to simpler times?

Back in my day, message boards were all the rage. (Message boards were kinda like reddit but without pictures. Ask your parents.) Every hot new band had a message board full of devoted fans who would hotly debate anything from the quality of the band’s recent output to the latest Papal discourse.

At least once a week a new thread would show up asking what people had been spinning recently in their CD players. (CD players were kinda like iPods. Ask your parents.) I would typically wait to start such a thread or post in an existing one until I had a rather nice variety going, so as to make myself appear to be much cooler than I actually am. Shuffling through the CD’s in the case I bring to work, I noticed that today was one of those days. So I figured perhaps a playlist was in order.

So without further ado, the contents of my CD wallet at this moment (in no particular order):

  • Sebadoh – Bakesale
  • Bon Iver – self titled
  • Matthew Sweet – Modern Art
  • Indigo Girls – Come On Now Social
  • Galaxie 500 – On Fire
  • Snow Patrol – Fallen Empires
  • Superdrag – A Head Trip In Every Key
  • The Reindeer Section – Son Of Evil Reindeer
  • The Head and the Heart – self titled
  • Belle and Sebastian – mp3 disc containing all of their studio albums, plus the BBC sessions and some live stuff
  • The Submarines – Love Notes / Letter Bombs
  • The Beatles – Rubber Soul and Revolver
  • Vijay Iyer, Prasanna, and Nitin Mitta – Tirtha
  • Low – C’mon
  • Damien Rice – O
  • Ted Leo and the Pharmacists – Hearts of Oak
  • The Jayhawks – Mockingbird Time
  • an mp3 mix CD of some of my top albums from 2011
  • Sloan – Never Hear The End Of It
  • The Woggles – Rock and Roll Backlash

Of course I didn’t actually listen to all of these today, as the workday is only about nine hours long. But it doesn’t matter, I’m still cooler than you.

 

 

