Tonight I was supposed to go to a concert with a girl that I met online, somewhat curiously named Charlie. Someone had dropped off a flier at work that said “Occupy Beatles” and listed the date and time. Curious as to what that meant, I googled it, to find out that’s the name of a Beatles cover band. I like the Beatles, so I figured why not, and I asked her if she would like to go.

The show was supposed to be at the Bobo Gallery, but their website said “TBA.” As of 7:45 PM the place was pitch black and not a single person was there. I asked the woman next door at the Green Light if she knew anything about it, and she said she didn’t. So we decided to see what else there was to do downtown. The answer, at 8:00 on a Thursday, is a resounding “not much.”

We came back to my place and watched the absolutely epic He Died With A Felafel In His Hand (if you haven’t seen it, you must!!!) and then hung out and talked until she had to get going. It was pretty cool to have a nice relaxing night with a new friend, something I haven’t done in a while. I’m actually trying to develop one of those “social life” things, and realizing it’s a bit more rewarding than an online life.

And now if you’ll excuse me, I am in desperate need of sleep.

