I was just awoken by the phone. My mom called to tell me that my grandfather passed away. He had a massive heart attack, they tried to revive him but it was no use. I don’t know anything about the funeral plans yet.

Growing up we weren’t quite as close to my dad’s parents as we were to my mom’s, who lived with us for years and helped raise me and my sister. We always thought that grandma and grandpa were a little loony, but we loved them nonetheless. Grandpa has had countless heart attacks and bypass surgeries over the years, and every time he would get some new medications and change a few things in his diet and be fine. I guess this time his heart had all it could take and gave out completely.

The whole thing is a bit surreal at the moment – losing two grandparents in the space of about three months. Grandpa was always good for a laugh, with his recycled vaudeville era one liners and Cold War era Polish jokes. It sucks that he’s gone, and I’m sure eventually it will set in, but right now it just doesn’t seem quite real. It was so sudden, and before when I found out he had another heart attack or was going in the hospital it was almost a given that everything would be fine, because it always was. It really sucks for grandma, because she grew up in a time and culture where women didn’t really do much for themselves, and he was her everything. Even as his health was failing, he still took her places and did everything for her. Even as they were cracking jokes at each other and telling each other to shut up, you could see how much they loved each other. I’m worried about what will happen to her now that he’s gone. I’m also concerned about my dad’s side of the family, most of them were pretty close to grandpa. It’s life, people die, but that doesn’t make it suck any less.

Well anyways that’s about it for now. I need to start getting ready for work. I’ll post more details when I can.

 

