I am happy to report that The Muppets met my expectations in every way. And considering those expectations were ridiculously high, that’s really saying something. This was quite possibly the best movie I’ve seen in theaters in years.

Everything about it was perfect. The songs were great. The cast was awesome. The cameos were hilarious. It paid tribute to The Muppets that I grew up on, with plenty of inside jokes, obscure characters, and self-referential humor. There were a lot of breaking-the-fourth-wall type jokes as well. And not only that, but it really had a lot of heart. There was a great theme about finding yourself, and about realizing what’s most important to you.

In short, if you’re a Muppet fan, you need to see this movie. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll sing along, and if you’re drinking something you’ll most likely spit it out of your nose at some point in time. My only regret was that I wasn’t able to see this during its first run in theaters, but in all honesty the vibe of the Brew-n-view fit this movie perfectly so I won’t complain too much. When this is released on DVD I plan on purchasing it, maybe springing for whatever deluxe edition they come out with, especially if it includes the Toy Story short that played before the movie.

Asheville peeps, you only have a few more days to catch this at APBC before it’s replaced by Tin Tin. It’s also playing at Cinebarre, but I’m not sure how much longer it will be there. If you don’t catch it in theaters, at least rent it. This is a movie that must be seen.

 

