Yesterday while I was driving home from work a phrase popped into my head. I started humming a melody and by the time I got home I had an entire song. I grabbed my guitar and figured out the chords and tweaked the lyrics a little. Today I started recording it shortly after I woke up and finished it a little while ago.

In between starting and finishing the recording, I had a late lunch with my new friend Lucie. We met online the other day and stayed up until around 4 AM chatting on Facebook. We’re a lot alike in terms of interests and beliefs, which is to say she’s about as nerdy as I am. We went to La Posada, which is a pretty good restaurant for the money. We really hit it off, hopefully we’ll be hanging out again soon.

After lunch I did some grocery shopping and then came back home to finish recording. When I got the basic tracks recorded I enlisted my roommate David to play on it. Originally I had wanted mandolin, but he felt it would be easier to fit the key using a mandola. It turned out really good, and I’ll probably upload it somewhere in the next day or so. I’ve been thinking about making a page on Bandcamp for a while now, and it was recently brought to my attention that Soundcloud is a good site too, so I might just do both of them. Whenever I get it uploaded I’ll post a link here.

But that’s about it for now. I haven’t gotten a lot of sleep lately, and I’ve been yawning uncontrollably for the past hour, so methinks an early bedtime is in order.

 

