Last night I got together with my new friend Lucie. We went down the street to Circle In The Square and got a pizza and then came back to my place to watch a movie and eat said pizza. As anyone who knows me can attest to, I have a lot of DVD’s. I think the proper terminology might be “shitload,” but we won’t squabble over specifics. The point is, when presented with said shitload of DVD’s, Lucie almost immediately says “I want to watch Life Of Brian.” So watch it we did. And pretty much quote every scene before it happened.

After the movie ended we got to talking about Monty Python and British humour (see what I did there?) in general, and then comes the startling revelation that she had never seen any episodes of Fawlty Towers. I decided to make haste in rectifying that unfortunate situation and went for the full-scale indoctrination that is The Germans, quite possibly the funniest half hour ever committed to celluloid. She laughed uncontrollably for most of it, squeaking and squealing and holding her stomach in agony. A good time was had.

We decided to end it after that episode and leave the rest of the series for another time. We spent the rest of the night talking about all sorts of random things, most commonly politics, religion, and music. I played her a few of my songs and we chatted some more, until we realized what time it was. She finally left around 1:30 or so, and I headed off to bed. But my good ol’ lactose intolerance didn’t like that idea, and decided that four slices of pizza was reason enough to keep me up until after 3:00. I had a pretty hard time getting out of bed this morning, and once my energy drink wore off I sleepwalked through the rest of my workday. The plan tonight is to get to bed realllllllly early, so on that note I’ll end this and attempt to stick to the plan.

 

