One day not so long ago I was in a foul mood. For no apparent reason, it seemed. No one had pissed me off, yet I didn’t want to be around anyone or talk to anyone. I wasn’t sick, sleepy, or anything of the sort. I hadn’t spent any time pondering the horrible state of the world and the inevitable decline of western civilization. I was just in a bad mood and I couldn’t figure out why. As I walked home from work that night I noticed the moon was full.

Yesterday I kept getting frustrated about false start after false start with the pictures I was attempting to work on. Last night I was physically exhausted, yet I couldn’t get to sleep. All day long today I’ve had a splitting headache that just refuses to go away. And I can’t help noticing that yesterday was the vernal equinox.

Maybe in our world of modern medicine we’ve lost touch with something that the ancients understood very well – our connection to the cosmos. We’ve heard countless tales of “lunatics” and “lunacy,” but we dismiss it as obsolete superstition. Science has documented how animals can somehow sense coming storms and earthquakes, but any talk of humans being connected to things greater than ourselves is scoffed at. Maybe there’s something to this. Maybe things like the moon, the seasons, and the universe can and do affect human emotions, health, sleep patterns, and who knows what else. Something to ponder, eh?

 

