First off, allow me to thank all the people who are following me. Evidently there’s twenty of you now. I don’t know how many are actually reading, but thanks, I feel all warm and fuzzy inside now 😉

And now, for a blog post………

At the gas station we have a regular customer who is moving to Ohio soon. He came in and said something like, “you’re a musician, right?” I told him I was and he then asked me if I wanted to buy a guitar. I told him to bring it by and I’d take a look at it, but I didn’t really think I’d end up buying anything. He comes back an hour or so later with an off-brand acoustic that’s actually in pretty good condition. There’s a brand new set of strings on it and it has a case. I asked him how much he wanted for it and he said $12. Off-brand or not, you’d have to be an idiot to pass up an offer like that. So I went to the ATM and got out some cash.

He claims to have three more guitars, and he simply didn’t have room in the move for this one. He said he really only wanted to get about what he paid for the case. I don’t know if the guitar was given to him, or if he stole it, or what. I’m pretty sure he’s an alcoholic, so maybe he was just desperate for beer money. But you figure, a set of strings is usually $5-8 or so, and the case would have to be at least double that. So one way or another, that’s a hell of a deal. My manager and I sat around jamming for a while, then after I got home I messed around on it some more. It has a nice dry, dull sound that kinda reminds me of the guitar sound on “Polly” by Nirvana. I’ll most likely just keep it in an alternate tuning – right now I have it in open D. Truth be told I didn’t really need any more instruments, but for $12 how could I say no?

 

