Well I dreaded having to write this post, but it’s now official, Amendment One has passed. I was going to wait until I thought things out a bit more, but I figured I might as well shoot from the hip, so here goes…

I hope you’re happy. The once moderate NC constitution has been amended to take rights away from people rather than give them. Just goes to show you that if you frame an issue using the words “the Bible says…” you can pass just about any law, regardless of how many people it harms. I don’t care what you believe, but the government should NOT be in the business of legislating religion, and the church should NOT be in the business of influencing politics. Just because you disagree with someone’s beliefs, lifestyle, actions, etc. doesn’t give you the right to treat them as second class citizens. Live as you see fit, but you have no right to force your beliefs upon others through the legal system.

It truly sickens me that a religion that claims to be founded on love can be a source of such hatred. Times like these make me glad I walked away from the faith some years ago. I’d rather take a stand for the rights of others than align myself with those who preach discrimination and the criminalization of opposing views and lifestyles. Now of course I realize not all people of faith voted for this amendment, nor are all people of faith against gay rights. But over the past few weeks I have seen countless people frame this as a religious issue and quote the Bible to defend it. In fact, I have yet to see a single argument made against Amendment One that doesn’t use religion as its basis. Not only does this strip away the rights of countless citizens, but it brings down the entire religious community and drags the name of Christ through the mud. But now I’m getting sidetracked, so let’s get back to the actual amendment…

This amendment is the mother of all Trojan Horses. On the outside it looks like a simple vote against gay marriage, but it’s chock full of all sorts of bullshit. ALL North Carolina residents – even the very same homophobes who voted for this amendment – lost. Heterosexual couples who are not married lost. Victims of domestic abuse lost. Children lost. To put it another way – your neighbor lost. Your friend lost. Your mother lost. YOU lost. Sure, you might think you’ve won because you’re not gay. But mark my words, this opens up a veritable Pandora’s box, and one day you will be on the receiving end of discrimination and oppression. History pretty much assures it.

The politics of fear, ignorance, hatred, and bigotry are the only winners in this election. If you voted for this amendment, I implore you to take a deep look inside your heart. I can’t for the life of me see why any sensible person would have voted in favor of state sanctioned discrimination. I have never been more disappointed in my state in my entire life. And considering we’re the state that gave the world Jesse Helms and Heath Shuler, that’s really saying something. So thanks a lot, voters of North Carolina. One minority group down, countless others to go.

 

