In preparation for my show at The One Stop, I’ve been painting a lot. They have a ton of wall space and I need to fill it! I’m currently wrapping up not one, not two, but three pieces…

The first was done with spray paint, acrylic, and newspaper. It depicts a bridge connecting two banks, and the river in between them is newspaper. The sky is purple spray paint and the cliffs and bridge are generously applied acrylic. I feel like it’s missing something, but I’m not quite sure what. I think I’m going to play around with a few sheets of vellum I have and try to figure out some sort of overlay, perhaps flames or something. It looks too serene and pretty, it needs something weird to bring it in line with the rest of my work.

The piece I’m currently working on is a doozy. The canvas I used was a damaged one I snagged from work. There’s a part of the frame where the wood is nasty looking and the canvas was sitting on it in a weird way, leaving a big dent. I got the idea to cut away that part of the canvas in the shape of a triangle. I painted the exposed parts of the frame with wood stain and then slopped on a beautiful mix of Payne’s grey and white with a paint roller. I’ve just now gone back in India ink and drawn some barren trees, and then very subtly using felt tip markers drawn the squiggles and shapes of a brain, with each hemisphere flush to one of the edges of the triangle that was cut out. Eventually I plan on putting a piece of paper behind the canvas, perhaps with something drawn, painted, or printed on there, and then sewing it to the canvas using waxed linen. Should be really interesting, so far I’m liking it a lot.

In between those two pieces I finished a painting that I am extremely happy with. It went through several incarnations, but finally became what it is now. There’s a sun-like circle done in gold leaf, and lines in the background in metallic paint. There’s a big hill type thing done in acrylic, with some highlights using the metallic green from the background. I’ve titled it More Afraid Of The Inconvenience (Supernova IV). There are currently no pieces named Supernova I-III, but who knows, maybe one day there will be. But alas, it’s a lot better to show you this piece than to talk about it. So here goes… what do you think? I think it’s probably the best painting I’ve done in 2012…

 

 

