I have a dilemma.

I’ve always been a very logical person. I’ve always been a bit of a skeptic. I’ve never believed in love at first sight. After today’s laundromat experience, I’m not so sure about that last one.

I was waiting on one of the cheap washing machines to open up. A load of clothes finished, so I went to take it out and put mine in. Just as I’m about to do that, a girl comes toward me. I ask if they’re hers and then we start talking. Two hours later we said goodbye. In between those two events I had my mind completely fucking blown.

We’ll start with the obvious – this girl is gorgeous. She’s a redhead, my one true weakness. She’s a little shorter than average, with a very petite frame. Her eyes are gorgeous, and she has a bit of a snaggle-tooth thing going on, in a cute way like Jewel. She was wearing a cute dress with a shawl of some sort over it, some hippie chick sandals, and big dangly earrings. From the very second I saw her I knew I was destined to spend the rest of my time there following her around like a puppy dog.

The good news is she didn’t seem to mind, and appeared to genuinely like talking to me. We talked about everything from music to blood type. She’s an artist. She plays flute and cello. She was doing laundry so she would have clean clothes for a fashion shoot for some clothing boutique downtown.  She’s into astrology, and somehow managed to guess my moon sign before even doing my natal chart. She put forth a theory about my diet being the result of my blood type. Note to self: call mom and find out what my blood type is.

We started talking about music, and she has amazing taste. She’s heavily into jazz, so I asked her if she had heard of Ahmed Abdul Malik, a jazz bassist who plays the oud and mixes a lot of Moroccan music into his stuff. She said that she loves his music because she used to live in Morocco. Yes, you read correctly – she lived in Morocco. We talked about Rabat and agreed it is one of the most amazing places on the planet. She had actually gone to the town I lived in, in spite of the fact that it’s in the middle of nowhere. She speaks a little darija. She shared my experience of a Moroccan mother trying to stuff you full of food. She’s also done a lot of traveling to other places that I would love to visit. She gave me a coin, not really sure where it’s from, but it’s Arabic.

Tomorrow night I’m going to see Lost In The Trees at The Grey Eagle. I asked her if she would like to join me. And herein lies my dilemma… She said something to the effect of, “sure, but it would have to be a friends-only sort of thing, I’m seeing someone…” And just like that my heart had fallen into my feet. She said that we had such a cool vibe going on, and that we should hang out with her sister sometime. I’m not sure if that was a genuine attempt to unite a group of people who all share a similar vibe, an attempt to put a buffer in between us so as to insure things stay friends-only, or an attempt to hook me up with her sister to take my attention off of her. With all do respect, I don’t really give a shit. The second she says she wants to get together I fully plan on jumping at the invitation. She invited me to a party she’s going to have at an undisclosed time in the near future, in which all of her artistic friends will get together and paint a mural on her walls. Sounds pretty good to me. I like art, I like artsy people, I like painting murals, and I would definitely like to spend some time with her. It might take a little time to work up to it – my heart falls into my feet at the sight of her Facebook pictures posing with the guy she’s dating. But eventually the desire to see the girl of my dreams will outweigh my fear of awkward social interactions. And once it does, well….. probably nothing.

And that’s my dilemma. Blah.

 

