So as I predicted, my friend cancelled on me last night. But in a flash of good timing, my neighbor sent me a text right before I got off work saying she wanted to go out and have a drink. I told her we should do dinner too, so she came downtown and we went to Pack’s Tavern. My stomach had been bothering me all day, so I didn’t drink anything and I only ate breadsticks. She said she felt bad for me and insisted on paying for my breadsticks. I don’t usually let girls pay, but considering she has a boyfriend, and she makes about three times as much as I do, I figured what the hell. She claims she’s going to be my “wingman” and find me a girl. We talked about random stuff and hung out for a while and then went home. All in all a pretty fun night.

This afternoon around 2:00 my family got here. We went to Asheville Pizza and Brewing Company and saw The Pirates! Band of Misfits. It was pretty good, lots of funny and quotable scenes, and the animation was terrific. Maybe not on par with other Aardman movies (I have a soft spot for Chicken Run) but definitely worth seeing. After the movie ended we hung out on the patio for a while talking with this older couple who had two really cute dogs. Then we headed over to The Hop and got some ice cream, then went to Walmart. My niece and nephew wanted to go swimming, but my parents didn’t pack their bathing suits. After buying some new ones, along with some random drinks and DVD’s, we headed back to their hotel for a swim.

We spent the first chunk of our pool time playing water basketball. At the other end were a young guy and girl, who eventually made their way over and we all started talking. They were from South Carolina, brother and sister, he was 19 and she was 18. She was ridiculously cute and really friendly. She hung onto the side of the pool and kicked her feet up and I noticed she had her toenails painted in rainbow colors. She accidentally kicked me and I jokingly said something to her about it. Then she made a game of it and started kicking me on purpose. So I did what any red-blooded guy would do: I started grabbing her feet and tickling her. The rest of the night we were giving each other funny looks and flirting, and on more than a few occasions we played footsie under the water. They said they’re staying until Tuesday, so hopefully we’ll see them again tomorrow night in the pool, in which case I might try my luck and see if I can get any further than flirtatious foot-play.

Tomorrow we’re most likely going to go pan for gold at this place in Spruce Pine and then go to Linville Caverns. At some point in time we have to make it to Target so I can pick up my prescription, and they also want to go on one of the ghost tours and check out some shops downtown.  I don’t know how much time I’ll spend online the next day or so, they like to start things early in the morning so eventually I’ll have to start going to bed at a decent time. But yeah, so that’s pretty much what’s going on. The End.

 

