Today I had a doctor’s appointment. And I totally had to Google that to find out that “doctor’s appointment” was the correct way to say that. It was a follow-up to my appointment about two weeks ago, when I had a fasting lab. The results were overwhelmingly positive. My cholesterol and triglycerides continued to come down and all of my other readings were in the normal range. My triglyceride count is still a little high and my “good” cholesterol is still a little low, but compared to where I was a year ago, things are looking pretty good.

I’ve been getting niacin supplements from Amazing Savings for about as long as I’ve been taking them. With it being a discount store, you pretty much know that what you see there won’t be there forever. But they’ve had niacin as long as I could remember, and there didn’t seem to be any end to that. And then there was an end. I’ve looked everywhere, but most stores only carry the “flush free” niacin, which is usually inositol hexaniacinate, which doesn’t seem to really work. The Natrol brand niacin that Amazing Savings had is nicotinic acid, and obviously it’s been working. But now every pharmacy that used to sell the complete line of Natrol supplements only has a few, and no one seems to know why. After my appointment I went on the hunt again, and finally tracked down a 500 mg niacin that wasn’t flush free at Rite Aid, so hopefully it will work as well as the Natrol brand has. Fingers crossed.

Originally I was supposed to go see Andrew Bird with my friend Sarah tonight. We were discussing when to meet up and whatnot when it was announced that the show was cancelled. Evidently his van broke down somewhere in Kentucky. The show was rescheduled for October 21. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do that, I’ll have to look at my finances. I’m already having to miss work on the 20th because that’s when I have to take my stuff down from The One Stop. As of right now I couldn’t afford to miss two days of work in the same week. Maybe I could leave early or something, who knows. Sarah took this as a blessing in disguise and didn’t want to do anything else, instead electing to stay at home and catch up on some things. I thought about calling some friends, but figured it was too short notice. I ended up just getting some Chinese takeout and watching How I Met Your Mother. It’s been rainy and dismal all day, which means that no matter how much sleep I got last night and no matter how much caffeine I’ve consumed, I’m sleepy. So I guess it’s just as well. Going to concerts and/or hanging out with friends while trying to stay awake isn’t exactly idea.

Well that’s about all for now.

 

