The other day was my neighbor Angela’s birthday. She decided going out and celebrating on a Friday night would work better, so that’s what we did. We decided on the Bywater, which meant we had to get one of our other neighbors, Dustin, to come along, since he’s the only one with a membership. They wanted to go around 8:00, which meant that I needed to drive to work instead of walking so I could be home with enough time. Unfortunately, downtown was an absolute mad house, and it took me over 20 minutes to get from the parking garage to my apartment. Knowing I wouldn’t have much time to eat to begin with, I got a to-go order from Chai Pani. Thanks to fighting downtown traffic, my food was cold and Angela was bugging me to hurry up the second I walked in the door. Fun times.

We got to the Bywater and hung out for a while waiting for others to show up. My roommate said she would be coming later with Joshua, who just recently fell and broke his hip. Angela had a friend who was supposed to be coming as soon as she could convince her boyfriend’s parents to let them leave. And after she got off work Michelle was supposed to be coming. We roamed around and started drinking. I had a hot apple cider made with spiced rum and butter schnapps that was pretty much amazing, then followed that with a concoction of more rum, root beer, and bitters. We were approached by yet another neighbor, a guy named Rob who plays upright bass and sometimes makes his way to our end of the complex to say hi. I ended up seeing a guy I know named Eric, and I briefly chatted up a girl with blue hair.

Angela got progressively more intoxicated, which was entertaining for all. Dustin wanted to leave because he has to be at work at 6:00 AM, but for some reason he didn’t think to drive. Since I’d only had a few drinks and my tolerance is ridiculously high, Angela let me drive her car to take him home. When I got back, Sofia and Joshua had arrived, and Michelle was calling me asking for a ride. When I told her I was already there she decided to drive. Sofia and Joshua didn’t stay much longer because she has to work early, and soon it was just me, Angela, and Michelle. For most of the night I’d been holding Angela’s stuff – keys, cigarettes, phone, ID, you name it – because she didn’t think to wear something with pockets, and was obviously too drunk to keep up with anything. She leaned over to tell me something and spilled her beer right down my back. My shirt got wet around the collar, but the big thing for me was my new blazer got wet. I hate the smell of beer, so when Michelle decided that after the band finished we should head to the Southern, I decided to come home and change and attempt to wash my blazer enough to make it smell nice again. I’d really like to wear it tomorrow on my non-date, so I hope it’s dry in time.

So I’m in my pajamas, my shirt is in the hamper, and my jacket is wet and hanging on the door. I have ridiculous heartburn from sinus problems, drinking, inhaling smoke, and having to shout over a bluegrass band all night. A week of screwed up sleep schedules is catching up with me and I can’t stop yawning. And oddly enough, I’m kinda chilly. Overall it was a pretty fun night, but perhaps it’s time to go to bed?

 

