Last night I went out with Morgan, the girl who came into the art supply store. The one who is basically my dream girl. The one who has a boyfriend. And it wasn’t a date. So yeah…

I picked her up on campus and we arrived fashionably late to the art opening. The artist was a woman named Lynn Boggess. Her work was really good, lots of impressive textures and colors, and for being loose and impressionistic paintings, an amazing attention to detail. We walked around and took it all in, and Morgan told me a bit about her life by relating the paintings to scenes she grew up seeing in her previous hometowns.  I grabbed some fruit and a glass of wine and we continued talking, somehow managing to touch on childhood, dating, alcoholism, religion, and Existentialism. The more we talked the more I realized that she is incredibly intelligent and pretty knowledgable about a variety of things.

After a little while she suggested we should walk around. We wandered around town with no particular destination or agenda for a while. I got a text message, (more on that later) and when I pulled my phone out to look she asked if I had to be somewhere. I assured her I didn’t, I was just looking to see who texted me, but I wouldn’t be rude to her and reply. I eventually did reply, but I wasn’t rude about it. We roamed around a bit more until she decided she wanted coffee. We went to Izzy’s and hung out for a while, until it appeared they were trying to close and we were the reason they were still open. I took her to The One Stop and showed her my art, giving a lot of background info. We left and began to wander again, until I got hungry and suggested we stop for food. She had already eaten, so basically she drank a glass of water and watched me eat a few slices of pizza at Barley’s.

Our conversation drifted all over the place. We talked about the usual stuff one would talk about on a non-date, but we also got into some really deep shit. She’s a very open person, and she didn’t have much of a problem with telling me a lot of things from her past. We spent a lot of time comparing experiences and battle scars. Maybe it was because I knew this wasn’t a date and I wasn’t trying to win her over, but I was unusually open about a lot of personal stuff. In a lot of ways we’re very much on the same page, and everything just felt right. I told her that I wasn’t expecting anything to change, I wouldn’t sit around hoping that she breaks up with her boyfriend. I didn’t want to cause any drama, and I was perfectly fine knowing that we might never be more than just friends. But that she was amazing, and that if anything ever did change, I wanted to be on the shortlist of potential future boyfriends. She said that I was sweet, and took it as a challenge to prove that I didn’t know her well enough and she wasn’t worthy of all the worship I had thrown at her feet. The funny thing is that nothing she told me changed my opinion of her one bit, so yeah.

I eventually replied to that text message, and she decided to turn off the ringer on her phone. She dug through her purse but couldn’t find it, and realized she had left it in the coffee shop. She schemed of ways her car-less self would get it back on a Sunday when the busses don’t run, and I alerted her to the fact that it was 11:30. Neither one of us had realized it, but we had been sitting in Barley’s for over two hours. I drove her home and told her to let me know if she found her phone. She sent me a text message this afternoon telling me she found it, and we basically texted the whole day. All in all it was a wonderful evening, and as crazy as it may sound, I think I’ve found something really special here. We might never be more than friends, but I feel like we connected on a very deep level, and I feel very close to her. This could be the start of a really great friendship.

But yeah, so back to that text message. I met a girl on Plenty Of Fish a few days ago who seems somewhat promising. She’s into philosophy and seems really intelligent. She’s also pretty cute. We emailed back and forth a few times and then she asked if I wanted to text sometime. I gave her my number, and wouldn’t you know it, she finally texts me while I’m on my non-date. I told her I was out and I’d get back to her when I got home. It was almost midnight when I finally got home, and I was afraid she might be asleep. I texted her anyway, and she replied promptly. We messaged each other for about an hour or so, and then I finally had to get some sleep. We decided to get together, but I’m not sure when yet. I messaged her tonight when I got home from work but never got a reply. I feel like there’s some potential here, and I’m sure she has a legit reason for not responding. I guess I’ll have to find out!

So that was my eventful night. If I can quit yawning I’m going to read the next section in my class, and then probably hit the sack. I’m definitely behind on sleep. The End.

 

