It’s been a full week since I updated. I’ve been pretty busy. Let’s go into more detail…..

Tuesday the guy from Skyrunner, a local internet company, came out to check if they could get a signal from my place. Sure enough they could. The only problem is my landlord doesn’t like the installation process. I guess an antenna the size of a pack of cigarettes and a tiny hole through which a cable is threaded is too intrusive for his liking. The maintenance guy told him to call up here on one of the days the girl is working in the office. She’s a little more tech-savvy and could better understand the process and explain to him it’s no big deal. But if that doesn’t work then I guess I’m stuck with Charter, which means a bigger bill. Blah.

The aforementioned maintenance guy came out that same day to look at our fridge. Evidently there’s a piece that is keeping the freezer fan from working, and to get to it he’d have to remove this whole front bracket. The fridge is so old that they no longer make the size hex wrench needed to take off the bolts. Hopefully this means they’ll give us a new fridge. But if one of my neighbors is any indication, that could take quite some time. Stupid cheap landlord.

Also on Tuesday I was supposed to have a date with Amber, a girl I met on a dating website. The same girl who texted me when I was out with Morgan last Saturday. She decided she didn’t feel well enough to drive to Asheville. She lives in Brevard, and I offered to drive there instead. At first she was down with the idea, then decided we should just reschedule. We decided on Thursday, my next day off. I texted her to get directions and she said that she had thought it over and she didn’t really want to date anyone right now. Why you would join a dating site if you don’t want to date is beyond me, but whatever.

Most of the rest of my week was spent stressing out. We fired someone last week at the art supply store, so we’ve been stretched pretty thin, with a lot of days being one person by themselves. Knowing that I would have very little free time because of a few social engagements and the last week of classes, I decided I needed to spend most of my time at work finishing up the newsletter. Trying to do that and run a store by myself is pretty hectic. Add to that the increasing difficulty of communicating with Joel from Blend about the show. He’s been terrible about responding to calls or emails, so the other day I went down there after work to see if the people at the bar knew anything more than I did. The girl who was there is actually dating one of the other artists, so she gave me his number. We talked it over and decided we need to take things into our own hands. We set a time for the show, and he’s going to get one of his friends to DJ. All we need to do is find out who the third artist is. Oddly enough, Joel just sent me a text message saying we should all get together to discuss things on Tuesday. Has he finally decided to coordinate this? Better late than never I suppose…..

Last night I hung out with Morgan again. She came over my place, and we basically just drank and talked about random stuff until my roommate and Joshua got home. Then they got involved in the conversation and it became even more random. A thirty-something couple, a nineteen year old college student, and the thirty-something guy who is hopelessly smitten, all talking about religion, sex, Mitt Romney, philosophy, Freud, origami, and art. With copious amounts of alcohol. It sounds like an indie rom-com in the making. But yeah, we all had a good time. Sofia and Joshua went to her room to watch a movie and Morgan asked me a lot of leading questions, possibly fishing for compliments. Because, you know, I don’t give her enough already. Somehow it became 1:30 and she decided it was time to go home. My neighbor Angela was coming home just as we were leaving, so I introduced them and we chatted for a few minutes. After I dropped her off I hung out at Angela’s place until I was too tired to be social. I came home and realized I needed to pay my Charter bill, and somehow ended up spending half an hour online. I attempted to go to sleep, but Ty’s roommate came home very drunk and very loud, and her voice echoed up to my window. Even when I closed it I could still hear her loud and clear. So yeah, I didn’t get much sleep. I drank three energy drinks just to get through work today and was still exhausted. Fun times.

Now I’m going to attempt to discipline myself enough to read the last few chapters for my online classes. Our final exam was released the other day, and even though we have until November 9 to finish it, I’d like to at least do something now, rather than wait until the last minute. Tomorrow my friend Rhiannon is coming up from Charlotte and we’re gonna hang out all day and then go see A Place To Bury Strangers at The Emerald Lounge. I’m pretty excited, both for the show and because I haven’t seen her in forever. But it basically means I won’t get any work done tomorrow, so yeah. Eventually I’ll need to try to get some sleep too. Man cannot live on caffeine alone. But he sure as hell can try…..

 

