About two weeks ago I finished a painting that I’d been working on for almost a month. Maybe it was working two jobs, or maybe the election, or being busy with a million other things, but for some reason I never got around to uploading it anywhere until now…

 

 

The piece is called “Al-Fatiha (Supernova I).” As you might suspect, it’s part of my “Supernova” series of weird landscapes with gold leaf suns. It’s pretty big (24″ x 36″) and is currently on display at True Blue as part of our staff show. As far as the process and whatnot, to save time I’ll just copy and paste what I wrote in my Deviantart page:

I started with a simple desert landscape, with dunes made of contact paper. In the background of the sky I wrote out the first verse of the Quran, then applied a lot of Golden heavy gel and painted over it. The sun is done in gold leaf. I then used ink to add shadows and textures on the dunes and the sun.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I took pictures at each step, one day I might make a collage showing it all and upload it.

So yeah, that’s my most recent work of note. I have a few little things I’ve been messing around with, but not really anything that necessitates a blog entry. Hopefully I’ll be having three days off in my near future (see previous entry) and can devote more time to art and to actually uploading and blogging about it. Anyways, that’s it for now.

 

