Thursday morning I braved the bitter cold to stand outside of Harvest Records for over two hours to get tickets to see Jeff Mangum (of Neutral Milk Hotel) at the Grey Eagle. The show isn’t until February, but it became the fastest sell-out in Grey Eagle history. Harvest ran out of tickets in fifteen minutes. The Grey Eagle’s website was sold out in four. Tickets went on sale at 11:00. I got there at 9:00 and was sixth in line. The girl who was first said she spent the night there. Evidently a lot of people still love Neutral Milk Hotel. But yeah so I got two tickets, and while I was there decided to pick up some new music. I got the new Menomena album on double vinyl (but the download doesn’t have any of the vinyl-only bonus tracks, wtf???) and a few used CD’s. A pretty productive morning.

Today I woke up with a sore throat and felt pretty blah for most of the day. A girl I know was having a birthday pub crawl and invited me, but I decided to decline. I watched a little TV and downed a mug of TheraFlu. Hopefully I’ll feel better soon, because tomorrow is a big day…

I’ll be going to the Mountain Xpress Best of WNC Bash to represent True Blue. And I’ll be taking Sarah. She doesn’t know how to get there, so we’re gonna meet somewhere after I get off of work and then take one car over. We’ll probably grab some dinner at the little taco stand inside the Grey Eagle. My boss wants me to be social with her for the first hour or so and then I’m free to do whatever. It’ll be a good chance to meet some local business owners and employees and do a little networking, and as a reward I get to hear free music and spend some time with Sarah. Should be a pretty fun evening.

Sunday is our Customer Appreciation Party. I don’t have to be there at any certain time, but I told her I’d come by for a little while. Other than that I pretty much have the day to do nothing. Sunday night I’ll be getting together with my other friend Sarah, the one who has been my concert hookup for the past year or so. She’s getting ready to head to South Korea to teach English and is trying to get rid of all her stuff. She’s selling me a laptop for $10. I don’t know anything about it, but the price is right. And I still owe her dinner since she bought me dinner on my birthday and then had to cancel when I had agreed to buy her dinner for her birthday. Should be yet another fun evening.

Monday I will get to give my two weeks notice at the gas station, which is most definitely cause for celebration. In addition to a much lower stress level, I’ll have an extra free day each week. And I’m joining a credit union, since I won’t have that gas station direct deposit to keep me from having to pay BB&T’s new monthly fee. Anywho, it appears this TheraFlu is starting to kick in and I’m feeling a bit woozy. Off to bed!

 

