It’s been quite some time since I wrote anything in here. I’m currently in the last throes (I hope) of a really annoying sinus infection, most likely triggered by the 30+ degree temperature swings we’ve had in the past few days. Seriously Mother Nature, 67 in the afternoon and 29 at night is NOT COOL.

I can briefly (for me anyway) retrace the major events of the past week. On Saturday I went to the Mountain Xpress Bash with Sarah. It was pretty cool overall. The food at the taco stand in the Grey Eagle is amazing, I’d go there on a non-show day just for some cheap grub. The Secret B-Sides played and were great as usual. There was a drag show and a comedian and a “Bathrooms of Asheville” trivia contest, all of which were fun. The final act was a rap group; neither of us are big rap fans and she was getting tired so we left. All in all, not much to complain about.

Sunday after work I hung out with the other Sarah, my friend who will shortly be leaving for South Korea. We ate at this Thai/sushi place in Hendersonville and then I helped her get a little packing done. She sold me her old laptop for $10, which I will use to better familiarize myself with Linux and to play streaming movies on my TV. She also gave me her dresser, which my neighbors had wanted. When I got home I helped them get it inside and then made a quick run to the store and went to bed.

Monday I saw what I thought was great news on my Facebook feed. Sarah posted something about “finding a keeper.” I texted her asking what that was about, expecting her to play it off and digitally whisper sweet nothings into the phone keypad. But as it turns out, she was referring to someone else. Again we have the complete lack of communication that has plagued me for years. If you’re seeing multiple people, and you think one of them could possibly turn into something more serious, you should tell the others. Don’t just go along with their flirtations and act as though things are great and then let them discover a bombshell on their news feed. Be open, be blunt, speak up and make things easier on all of us! I don’t know how I always wind up in the exact same situation, but it’s really getting old.

The rest of my week was rather uneventful, aside from doing a lot of painting and getting really sick on Thanksgiving. I had a nice dinner of Tofurky, stuffing, and sweet potato casserole, but what I really needed was some TheraFlu. The past few days I’ve been getting slowly better, so hopefully this is the end of it. I would like to make a full recovery soon so I can see some of my friends whom I haven’t seen in forever and would like to not infect.

Today on my lunch break I stopped by the video store downtown that is closing and picked up a few movies. I just watched Your Highness, not really knowing what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it was stupid. But in a good way. My roommate just got home from ten days in Puerto Rico. As soon as four hours has finally passed I’m going to have another dose of TheraFlu and pass the fuck out in preparation for my next-to-last weekend as a CitiStop employee. And that’s really about all that’s going on. The End.

 

