I’m writing this from my family’s house. It’s the wee hours, Christmas Eve/Christmas Day. In about five hours my family will want to wake up to open presents. I should be exhausted, yet I’m not. It’s pretty much impossible to sleep around here, for one reason or another. So out of boredom and the need for an update on life, let’s back up…

Last Wednesday my probable roommate came over to do some measurements. It looks as though his stuff is going to fit, so at this point all that’s left is for him to go to the office and apply. Later that night I met a girl named Amber who I’ve been talking to on OKCupid and Facebook. She’s a redhead, she works with autistic people, and she’s in recovery, five years sober. She seems really sweet and intelligent, but I’m not sure what I think about her yet. I’ll probably try to get up with her after the holidays and then see how things go.

Thursday night after work I went to Walmart for a few quick things and ended up waiting in line for almost an hour. I wrapped Christmas presents and finished a new painting. On Friday my friend Rhiannon came into town, along with her boyfriend and some friends of theirs, another couple. I stayed up pretty late talking and goofing off and was extremely sleepy at work on Saturday.

After work Saturday we met back up downtown. I waited while Rhiannon and her boyfriend got new tattoos, then we went in search of food. My neighbor Angela sent me a text saying that she was at the LAB with my other neighbor Michelle. They hit it off nicely with Rhiannon and my new friends and everyone had a pretty good time. Rhiannon and Michelle did more than a little flirting with each other, which was pretty interesting to say the least. After dinner we split up, with Angela, Michelle, and I staying at the LAB and the others going to the Boiler Room for some techno fetish Christmas party. Playing that night at LAB was an old friend from Fayetteville who I haven’t seen in years, a guy named Ryan who performs under the name Rookie Of The Year. We hung out afterward and he bought me a drink and gave me a deal on his newest CD. It’s not exactly my prefered style of music, but definitely a step up from his last album. I rode home with Angela and Michelle and then we hung out at Angela’s apartment for a while. Rhiannon and her friends got back around 3:00, very drunk and giggly. We chatted for a while and then everyone went to sleep.

I somehow managed to wake up extremely early Sunday to pack my stuff and load my car. I spent the whole day at work alternating between nodding off and consuming more caffeine. After work I met up with a guy named Christian. He posted on Reddit that he needed a ride to Statesville and would pay gas money. I figured I was going that way anyway, I might as well. In Hickory, after much confusion, we met up with my friend Lucie. Christian’s sister came to Hickory and picked him up, and Lucie and I had dinner, drinks, and chatted. After dinner I set back on the road, alone, but with the help of much more caffeine. I arrived at my family’s house around 1:00. Earlier today a few of my mom’s friends came over, followed by my sister, her new husband, and the kids. We had dinner, opened a few presents, drank, and watched TV. Everyone is either gone or asleep now, and I’m thinking at some point in time I should follow suit.

A lot of my family’s Christmas traditions haven’t happened this year. We didn’t go to Midnight Mass, we’ve yet to watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, etc. It doesn’t really feel like Christmas, which I suspect is part of being an adult. It’s still my favorite holiday, but it’s becoming more and more just another day. And now I’m finally starting to get sleepy, so perhaps the time for rambling is over. Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, The End.

 

