We’re now about four hours into 2013 here on the east coast. If these first few hours are any indication, this will be quite the year. But a super quick recap of the past week is needed…

Christmas was okay. Nothing out of the ordinary, good nor bad. We went to my sister’s house to watch my niece and nephew open presents, then came back to my parents’ house to open our own. The rest of the day was spent sleeping, hanging out with the family, watching National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, and eating food I shouldn’t have eaten. The day after Christmas we headed to Best Buy so I could buy a new external hard drive, Target to return a shirt, the auto shop so I could buy  new wiper blades, and a few other random places. After dinner I headed home, stopping a few times for gas, food, and bathroom usage. By the time I got to Black Mountain it had started snowing, and when I arrived home there was a light dusting of snow, to go along with 70 mph winds. A tree fell on a power line minutes after I started unpacking and I was in the dark. The power came back on at some point during the night, but I have no idea when. The next day I went to work, still half asleep. The entire rest of the week was pretty uneventful.

So that brings us to the current holiday. I made a dinner date with a girl named Katie (yet another one!) who lives in my apartment complex. We had met quite some time ago when we were both waiting for the bus. She has bluish-greenish streaks in her hair and I complimented her on them. We chatted a little but that was pretty much it. A few weeks ago she came into the art supply store and we realized we knew each other and started chatting. We exchanged numbers and decided to get together sometime. I saw her at the bus stop again a few days ago and we talked about how neither of us had plans for New Year’s Eve.

She suggested Nine Mile for dinner, but when we got there it was standing room only, so we gave up and went somewhere far from downtown. We settled on Elena’s, which is probably the best Mexican restaurant in town. After dinner we came back to my place because hers was messy. We had some drinks, watched an episode of Fawlty Towers, and did a little snuggling. The rest of the evening I won’t go into detail about, but it’s safe to say this was the most successful first date I’ve had in a while. Not sure when or what the second date will be, but there most definitely will be one.

So I didn’t watch the ball drop. I didn’t go to any parties or festivities. I spent the evening with someone I barely know while my friends were off doing god knows what. All in all it was a pretty low-key New Year’s, but it was quite possibly the best one I’ve ever had. Now I’m exhausted and sleep calls. In the coming days I’ll attempt to write some sort of grand philosophical review of 2012, along with my annual best-of music list. But for now, sleep.

 

